Press Release
Climate Diplomacy Week 2021 calls community
to act on climate crisis

The European Union (EU) and the EU Member States embassies in Jakarta launched the Climate Diplomacy Week in Indonesia today (11/10). The Climate Diplomacy Week is part of an annual global campaign aimed at promoting positive action and collaboration related to climate change. This year’s Climate Diplomacy Week will be held from 11 to 16 October 2021 with the theme “Ambition and Action”.

On the occasion of the launch of Climate Diplomacy Week, the EU Ambassador to Indonesia Vincent Piket said: “Countries all over the world have witnessed the devastating impacts of climate change. In the recent months and weeks, we have seen – again – fires, floods and the most severe droughts in decades caused by the crisis. We need to step up action together, and as fast as possible, for transforming towards a low-carbon and climate-resilient future.”

The recent scientific report of the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) warns that global warming could surpass 1.5°C in just two decades, and it confirms that the world is warming rapidly due to human influence. Clear action and more ambition are needed internationally to limit global warming to 1.5°C and reach net-zero emission by 2050. To reach this target, we need all countries to share updated and enhanced Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) and we need the 2021 UN Climate Change Conference (COP 26) – which will take place in Glasgow in November – to agree on outstanding elements of the Paris Agreement, including on transparency and carbon markets.

“The EU is doing its share by adopting the ‘European Green Deal’, a roadmap towards a climate-neutral EU by 2050. It has also adopted the ‘Fit for 55’ package of legislative and policy proposals to deliver the emission reduction target of at least 55% by 2030, compared to 1990 levels,” said EU Ambassador Piket.

“We encourage dialogue and an inclusive collaborative climate action. Through the Climate Diplomacy Week, we wish to foster mutual understanding with all parts of society, through the participation of Government of Indonesia, civil society organisations, youth groups, and the private sector,” he added.

“The climate crisis is a planetary crisis. Therefore, emission reduction must be a collective global effort. Over the next five days our joint activities will show we care, we can, and we do –step up collective action in all parts of society. We all share a common interest in keeping the 1.5°C target within reach. Hopefully this week can inspire partnerships and concrete actions that we can do together for a healthier earth,” concluded EU Ambassador Piket.

Climate Diplomacy Week 2021 will cover five thematic areas, all of which are relevant to the central theme of ‘Ambition and Action’. The five thematic areas are:

  1. Stepping-up Climate Ambition
  2. Transforming the Economic
  3. Preserving the Ecosystem
  4. Taking Everyone on Board
  5. Means to Reach the Ambitions.

Climate Diplomacy Week 2021 will present more than 40 speakers in 15 sessions such as webinars, talk sessions, dialogues; and other outreach activities including mangrove planting.

More info:

Climate Diplomacy Week 2021 in Indonesia:
Climate Diplomacy Week 2021 around the world:!wxVtk4
EU’s position for COP26:!nvWnty
European Green Deal:!Tr74bn

About the European Union (EU)

The European Union (EU) is the economic and political union of 27 Member States with a population of 470 million. Together, the EU has built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development while maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedom. In 2012, the EU was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for advancing the goals of peace, reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe. The EU is the world’s largest trading bloc, and the world’s largest source and destination of foreign direct investment. Collectively, the EU and its Member States are the largest donors of Official Development Assistance (ODA), providing more than half of ODA globally.

The 27 Member States of the EU (in protocol order) are: Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Croatia, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden.

For more information about the EU and its relations and cooperation with Indonesia, please visit:

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Youtube

Social Share